Twenty Four Hours

Janeiro 20, 2008


Twenty Four Hours

Música: Joy Division
Letra: Ian Curtis

So this is permanence, loves shattered pride.
What once was innocence, turned on its side.
A cloud hangs over me, marks every move,
Deep in the memory, of what once was love.

Oh how I realised how I wanted time,
Put into perspective, tried so hard to find,
Just for one moment, thought Id found my way.
Destiny unfolded, I watched it slip away.

Excessive flashpoints, beyond all reach,
Solitary demands for all Id like to keep.
Lets take a ride out, see what we can find,
A valueless collection of hopes and past desires.

I never realised the lengths Id have to go,
All the darkest corners of a sense I didnt know.
Just for one moment, I heard somebody call,
Looked beyond the day in hand, theres nothing there at all.

Now that Ive realised how its all gone wrong,
Gottas find some therapy, this treatment takes too long.
Deep in the heart of where sympathy held sway,
Gotta find my destiny, before it gets too late.

“I’d been warned on a train to London two weeks earlier by Annik [Honoré, Curtis’ lover]. I asked her, ‘What do you think of the new album.’ She goes, ‘I’m terrified.’ I said, ‘What are you terrified of?’ She replies, ‘Don’t you understand? He means it.’ And I go, ‘No, he doesn’t mean it; it’s art.’ And guess what, he fucking meant it.”

Tony Wilson, manager da banda, sobre o suicídio de Ian  Curtis.

Até mais.

Uma resposta to “Twenty Four Hours”

  1. Anônimo Says:

    Opa, Farias. Tudo bom, cara ?
    Retirou sua antiga implicância com o esplêndido Joy Division ou continua apreciando somente as magníficas letras do Ian Curtis ?
    Quanto a letra postada, fora do comum! Um dos maiores letristas, quiçá o maior do rock.Bela escolha.

    Um abraço,
    Cordialmente…


Deixe uma Resposta

